The Yup’ik Museum is a tribally-owned and operated museum, located inside the Yupiit Piciryarait Cultural Center in Bethel, Alaska.
The museum got its start thanks to a $5000.00 grant awarded to the City of Bethel in 1965, as part of Alaska’s Purchase Centennial, celebrating 100 years of the purchase of Alaska from Russia.
The original museum was located in a log house, made with trees cut and shipped downriver from Bethel by barge. By 1968, the Bethel Council on the Arts managed the museum. The City of Bethel took over management of the museum again, and the objects were moved into a new log cabin. On July 4, 1970, it opened and was renamed the Yugtarvik Regional Museum. The log cabin was gutted by fire in 1980, damaging both the building and collection. It was broken into several times since opening and closed periodically for lack of volunteer staff. In 1995, with the opening of the new Yupiit Piciryarait Cultural Center the museum was moved to AVCP and renamed the Yupiit Piciryarait Museum.
With over 5000 objects from our region, the Yup’ik Museum house priceless and one of a kind objects that showcase the Yup’ik (real people) people of the Yukon-Kuskokwim delta region. The gallery houses two permanent exhibits, and one temporary exhibit that changes every 3 months. The museum is free to the public, and the hours are Tuesday through Saturday, from 12 pm to 4 pm.
Sustain the Yup’ik culture, history, language, and arts via the transmission of knowledge from this generation of elders into the future.
Establish the Yupiit Piciryarait Museum as Alaska’s premier knowledge center for research, documentation, archive and education in the Central Yup’ik culture, history, language, arts, and life ways.
For more information, please contact the Yup’ik Museum at 907/543-1819. Like us on facebook! Facebook.com/yupik museum